Tunable sinusoidal Phase Gratings and sinusoidal Phase Zone Plates


  • Jorge Ojeda-Castaneda University of Guanajuato, Mexico
  • Cristina M. Gómez-Sarabia
  • Miguel Torres-Cisneros
  • Luis M. Ledesma-Carrillo
  • Rafael Guzmán-Cabrera
  • Cipriano Guzmán-Cano




We disclose the use of a suitable pair of phase-only masks for generating sinusoidal phase gratings, or sinusoidal phase zone plates, with tunable optical path delays. We show that these gratings can have either 1-D structure or a 2-D radial structure.

Full Text: PDF

  1. B. Berge and J. Peseux, "Variable focal lens controlled by an external voltage: An application of electrowetting", Eur. Phys. J. E 3, 159-163 (2000). CrossRef
  2. H. W. Ren, Y. H. Fan, S. Gauza, and S. T. Wu, "Tunable-focus flat liquid crystal spherical lens", Appl. Phys. Lett. 84, 4789-4791 (2004). CrossRef
  3. T. Martinez, D. V. Wick, D. M. Payne, J. T. Baker, and S. R. Restaino, "Non-mechanical zoom system", Proc. SPIE 5234, 375-378 (2004). CrossRef
  4. D. Y. Zhang, N. Justis, and Y. H. Lo, "Fluidic adaptive zoom lens with high zoom ratio and widely tunable field of view", Opt. Commun. 249, 175-182 (2005). CrossRef
  5. B. H. W. Hendriks, S. Kuiper, M. A. J. Van As, C. A. Renders and T. W. Tukker, "Electrowetting-Based Variable-Focus Lens for Miniature Systems", Opt. Rev. 12, 255-259 (2005). CrossRef
  6. M. Duocastella and C. B. Arnold, "Enhanced depth of field laser processing using an ultra-high-speed axial scanner", Appl. Phys. Lett. 102, 06113-1--06113-3 (2013). CrossRef
  7. Jorge Ojeda-Casta-eda, José Enrique A. Landgrave and Cristina M. Gómez-Sarabia, "Conjugate phase plate use in analysis of the frequency response of imaging systems designed for extended depth of field", Appl. Opt. 47, E99 (2008). CrossRef
  8. A.W. Lohmann, British Patent 998, 191 (May 29, 1964).
  9. A.W. Lohmann, Republic Française 1, 398, 351 (June 10, 1964).
  10. A.W. Lohmann, Italy Patent 727, 848 (June 19, 1964).
  11. A.W Lohmann, "A New Class of Varifocal Lenses", Appl. Opt. 9, 1669 (1970). CrossRef
  12. L.W. Alvarez, U.S. patent 3,305,294 (21 February 1967).
  13. L.W. Alvarez , W. E. Humphrey, U.S. patent 3,507,565 (21 April, 1970).
  14. L.W. Alvarez, J. Am. Optometric Assoc. 49, 24 (1978).
  15. S. Bernet and M. Ritsch-Marte, U.S. patent application 20100134869 A1 (June 3, 2010).
  16. Jorge Ojeda-Castaneda, S. Ledesma, and C. M. Gómez-Sarabia, "Tunable apodizers and tunable focalizers using helical pairs", Phot. Lett. Poland 5, 20 (2013). CrossRef
  17. J. Ojeda-Casta-eda, C. M. Gómez-Sarabia, and S. Ledesma, "Novel free-form optical pairs for tunable focalizers", J. Opt. 43, 85 (2014). CrossRef
  18. J. Ojeda-Castaneda, A. L. Barragán-Chávez, and C. M. Gómez-Sarabia, "Aberration generators in tandem", Phot. Lett. Poland 7, 8 (2015). CrossRef
  19. Adolf W. Lohmann and Donald A. Silva, "An interferometer based on the Talbot effect", Optics Comm. 2, 413 (1971). CrossRef
  20. S. Yokozeki and T. Suzuki, "Shearing Interferometer Using the Grating as the Beam Splitter", Appl. Opt. 10, 1575 (1971). CrossRef
  21. Jason Geng, "Structured-light 3D surface imaging: a tutorial", Adv. Opt. Phot. 3, 128 (2011). CrossRef
  22. Jorge Ibarra and J. Ojeda-Casta-eda, "Talbot interferometry: a new geometry", Opt. Commun. 96, 294 (1993). CrossRef
  23. J. Ojeda-Castaneda, C.M. Gómez-Sarabia, S. Ledesma, "Novel zoom systems using a vortex pair", Asian J. Phys. 23, 415 (2014). DirectLink
  24. J. Ojeda-Castaneda, C.M. Gómez-Sarabia, S. Ledesma, Asian J. Phys. 23, 535 (2014). DirectLink
  25. J. Ojeda-Casta-eda and Cristina M. Gómez-Sarabia, "Nonconventional optical systems using varifocal lenses", Phot. Lett. Poland 7, 14 (2015). CrossRef

Author Biography

Jorge Ojeda-Castaneda, University of Guanajuato, Mexico

Electronics Department, Professor




How to Cite

J. Ojeda-Castaneda, C. M. Gómez-Sarabia, M. Torres-Cisneros, L. M. Ledesma-Carrillo, R. Guzmán-Cabrera, and C. Guzmán-Cano, “Tunable sinusoidal Phase Gratings and sinusoidal Phase Zone Plates”, Photonics Lett. Pol., vol. 9, no. 2, pp. pp. 57–59, Jul. 2017.